Routing GVJ output to virtual monitor => network

Share your thoughts / tips / comments / ideas about ArKaos GrandVJ.

Moderators: Jdoniaute, crustea

Routing GVJ output to virtual monitor => network

Postby henryklein » Mon Sep 20, 2010 5:14 pm

I want to lead the output fullscreen via network instead of having a 50 meters video cable. The "receiver" should be a PC that stands quite near to the beamer. I use the GVJ for my band to change the stage's background and have a beamer installed in the front truss and a 6x4 meter backdrop.

Did anybody route the output of the GVJ route through network? Any suggestions?

Thanks in advance for your ideas.

Henry

ps: I found Maxivista to create several outputs, but GVJ cannot handle it.
henryklein
Newbie
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Oct 27, 2009 1:24 pm

Re: Routing GVJ output to virtual monitor => network

Postby henryklein » Thu Sep 23, 2010 2:48 pm

none? please.

henry
henryklein
Newbie
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Oct 27, 2009 1:24 pm

Re: Routing GVJ output to virtual monitor => network

Postby JJJ » Tue Sep 28, 2010 12:15 am

You can extend video over cat5 through a myriad of configurations. No need to have a PC at the output end. Cat5 is the most economical way to go long distances.

Gefen has some nice gear and so does Matrox.
JJJ
JJJ
Expert user
 
Posts: 113
Joined: Tue Jul 25, 2006 4:27 am

Re: Routing GVJ output to virtual monitor => network

Postby henryklein » Tue Sep 28, 2010 11:54 am

Hey JJJ, thx a lot for the information. That could be a way to solve my problem. Unfortunately the extender units dont lead through an existing LAN.

Henry
henryklein
Newbie
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Oct 27, 2009 1:24 pm

Re: Routing GVJ output to virtual monitor => network

Postby PhasedMedia » Tue Sep 28, 2010 10:20 pm

Rather than send output over network you could just put server backstage and remote control it over the network.
Either by remote access or by using midi over ip.(or similar).
Image quality will be much better and you wont have to run cables from foh to backstage.
Will
PhasedMedia
User avatar
PhasedMedia
Expert user
 
Posts: 345
Joined: Thu Jul 03, 2008 12:21 pm
Location: New Zealand

Re: Routing GVJ output to virtual monitor => network

Postby henryklein » Wed Sep 29, 2010 2:05 am

Hey Will,

thx a lot for this very useful hint. I will give this a try. Unfortunately I will have to waste GVJ serial number for installing my license onto another (server) machine. (Hope one day Arkaos will copy protect their product with some kind of dongle, so there will be no risk in having no installs left over when updating to another computer.)

cheers,

Henry

PS: A local band "Spoonkill" is on their New Zealand tour these days. I used to mix some of their shows and liked them a lot. Maybe you will meet the guys.
henryklein
Newbie
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Oct 27, 2009 1:24 pm

Re: Routing GVJ output to virtual monitor => network

Postby PhasedMedia » Fri Oct 01, 2010 5:57 am

Hey Henry,
I don't see why you would have to use another licence key, the computer at FOH doesn't need to be licenced to remote control GVJ. A netbook or similar would be fine as it's not doing any video processing- just sending midi data from any controllers you may use (or Ableton) across the network to backstage GVJ machine.
I've built touchscreen interfaces for installations to do just this.
Will
PhasedMedia
User avatar
PhasedMedia
Expert user
 
Posts: 345
Joined: Thu Jul 03, 2008 12:21 pm
Location: New Zealand

Re: Routing GVJ output to virtual monitor => network

Postby henryklein » Fri Oct 01, 2010 10:05 am

Hey Will,

and thanks a lot for taking part in solving my problem. You are right: I could use the already licensed Laptop backstage to be remoted. So I will start from this point to build up a remote system. (That will be a bit tricky because the Laptop contains both the GVJ and the DMX lighting software and is controlled by two cross-switched midi remotes (Behringer BCF and Akai APC) I will have to sort out how the sent and feedback data from and back to the controllers can be managed over LAN.)

You talked about having built touchscreen solutions. Do you have any examples what you axactly did? I am very interested in these tings.

Thanky you very much again. Would be nice to hear from you.

Cheers, Henry
henryklein
Newbie
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Oct 27, 2009 1:24 pm


Return to GrandVJ - Eight channels VJ software for real time HD video mixing

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 2 guests

cron