flash animations?

Share your thoughts / tips / comments / ideas about ArKaos GrandVJ.

Moderators: Jdoniaute, crustea

flash animations?

Postby patrickjansen » Tue Dec 14, 2010 6:40 pm

Does Grand VJ support loading flash .swf animations and configure parameters/variables (which vary the animation visual) from inside the software?

I've developed a collection of those for another VJ software and soon will release them, and I am at the moment checking in which other VC software i can hook them up.

t.i.a. for any feedback
P.
patrickjansen
Newbie
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Dec 10, 2010 2:51 am

Re: flash animations?

Postby tvdz » Fri Dec 17, 2010 5:51 pm

Hi Patrick,

GrandVJ supports flash .swf animations. Currently the input parameters are limited (mainly a TEXT input). Thus, the current version has no live controllable variables.

You can find more information on the blog:

http://www.arkaos.net/blog/2009/10/tips/create-dynamic-flash-text-for-grandvj/

http://www.arkaos.net/blog/2009/10/engineering/using-flash-actionscript-3-in-grandvj/


I hope this helps!
tvdz
 

Re: flash animations?

Postby FrankySpanky » Sun Dec 19, 2010 3:35 pm

Hello Patrick,


There are also 4 parameters that can be used as controlled variables in flash. Here's a small example how I normally set this up:

actionscript:
Code: Select all
var parameter1:Number;
var parameter2:Number;
var parameter3:Number;
var parameter4:Number;

onEnterFrame = function(){
   a = Math.round(parameter1) * 2;
   b = Math.round(parameter2) * 2;
   c = Math.round(parameter3) * 2;
   d = Math.round(parameter4) * 2;
   
   // mcName._x = a;
   // mcName._xscale = b
   
}


So where can I see your flash collection ? :)
FrankySpanky
Newbie
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Sun Dec 12, 2010 10:01 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Re: flash animations?

Postby patrickjansen » Tue Dec 21, 2010 7:08 pm

Thanks all for the feedback

@tvdz: a text input would be the essential one. But at least numeric and boolean input parameters would be nessesary so the user could at least change visuals from within the sofware (even if it were to be able to choose one from a list of predefined variable-settings).

@franky: And these parameter1-to-4 can be set from within the vj software? That would do the trick of the above.
About what I have in mind, check this (box2), dozens of these , this, this and more. Maybe 2011, all in due time ...
patrickjansen
Newbie
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Dec 10, 2010 2:51 am

Re: flash animations?

Postby FrankySpanky » Sat Dec 25, 2010 11:37 pm

Yip, you can use the 4 effects knobs to change the value of parameter1 - 4 in GrandVJ.
Hopefully we get more or, even beter, custom flash parameters in GrandVJ with the same 'ease of use in flash'.
Would be great to be able to link the microphone- or e.g. mouse value to an effects parameter in GrandVJ.... :twisted: :mrgreen:
FrankySpanky
Newbie
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Sun Dec 12, 2010 10:01 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Re: flash animations?

Postby patrickjansen » Thu Dec 30, 2010 8:24 am

I took a quick peek at AS3Template.fla and noticed the text updates fine if I test it in GrandVJ "Visual" tab, but the 9 numeric values of this animation don't seem to be accessible from the software. Even though I see the callback AS lines like var audiofft1=arkGetVariable("audiofft1") , so I'm assuming they're pulled from the software ... but can't find the spot to change them, not in "Visual" nor "Effects" (or "mixing" or "position")

Any feedback on that?
patrickjansen
Newbie
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Dec 10, 2010 2:51 am

Re: flash animations?

Postby FrankySpanky » Wed Jan 05, 2011 1:18 am

The parameters audiofft1 (low tones), audiofft2, ...., audiofft9 (high tones) get a value according to the level of sound that is picked up in GrandVJ and are send to Flash. As far as I know these parameters can't be controlled by a knob or silder, it's just the sound spectrum. So to let these parameters animate something, you need to write some actionscript in Flash.

These are all GrandVJ flash parameters I know:
http://www.studiofb.nl/upload/files/GrandVJVariables.swf
Just drop this file in a cell in GrandVJ.


Does somebody know how to control "beattime" in GrandVJ?
FrankySpanky
Newbie
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Sun Dec 12, 2010 10:01 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Re: flash animations?

Postby patrickjansen » Fri Jan 07, 2011 6:08 am

I see. Makes sense. But from AS3Template.fla I notice only "text" can be set in GrandVJ interface, where can I set "parameter1" ,2,3, and 4 in the software interface? So that I can use-implement parameter1/2/3/4 into the ActionScript of the animation?
patrickjansen
Newbie
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Dec 10, 2010 2:51 am

Re: flash animations?

Postby patrickjansen » Wed Jan 12, 2011 7:31 pm

still can't find "parameter 1 to 4" in GrandVJ interface
suggestions?
patrickjansen
Newbie
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Dec 10, 2010 2:51 am

Re: flash animations?

Postby FrankySpanky » Sun Jan 16, 2011 5:16 pm

They aren't referred to as parameter 1 to 4 in the grandvj interface, only in flash.
You can find the 4 slinder, controlling the parameters, under your clip "Effects" tab.
Note. assign no effects to your clip while testing this.
FrankySpanky
Newbie
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Sun Dec 12, 2010 10:01 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Re: flash animations?

Postby patrickjansen » Sun Jan 16, 2011 8:33 pm

Much tnx, got it hooked up. The only thing I didn't manage is setting initial values for text and 4 parameters. I tried adding

arkSetVariable("parameter3","0.75") ;
arkSetVariable("text","GRAND VJ") ;

as startup values but that didn't change anything.
Did I miss something?
patrickjansen
Newbie
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Dec 10, 2010 2:51 am

Re: flash animations?

Postby FrankySpanky » Thu Feb 17, 2011 8:10 pm

Hmm, parameter1 seems to jump to 20 percent and parameter2 10 percent as the initial value? When I wiggle a midi button it then jumps to that knobs value :? ? I think when a new clip is triggered the initial value of the parameter should be the parented midi (knob of slider) value.

Arkaos can you fix this in a comming update?
FrankySpanky
Newbie
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Sun Dec 12, 2010 10:01 pm
Location: The Netherlands


Return to GrandVJ - Eight channels VJ software for real time HD video mixing

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron