GrandVJ Dev. 101214 - Feedback and bug report

Share your thoughts / tips / comments / ideas about ArKaos GrandVJ.

Moderators: Jdoniaute, crustea

GrandVJ Dev. 101214 - Feedback and bug report

Postby polanri » Tue Dec 21, 2010 2:31 pm

From now on, as we are working on a major update to GrandVJ we will provide several intermediate development versions that will include a few new features, before we release the final update with all the new stuff packed in.

For more info about this development release, please refer to the related Blog Article

Use this thread to provide a detailed technical feedback or bug report about this development release.
polanri
 

Re: GrandVJ Dev. 101214 - Feedback and bug report

Postby hypnotica » Tue Dec 21, 2010 11:24 pm

First glimpse. Love the new transitions option. More banks super great!

Special request on interface change, Please any chance to unblock interface window mode to resize interface verticlaly small limit. New laptops 16:9 doesn't have much pixel. At least possibility to size 500-600 pixel vertical would be nice. The idea sizing limit half screen res be great. Or option pop out like banks and keyboard the other modules effects mixing ....

Still missing lock option in visual tab. Useful when an effects is in a bank and you want to drag it to a layer without resetting the layers visual.

For banks option any chance when we split the window to 2 tab banks. Create a dual mapping for separate midi controllers.
Over 10 years of Visuals Stimulations!
hypnotica
Confirmed user
 
Posts: 72
Joined: Mon Sep 24, 2007 6:35 pm
Location: Canada

Re: GrandVJ Dev. 101214 - Feedback and bug report

Postby absentcinema » Wed Dec 22, 2010 6:24 pm

This is a great feature, makes the crossfader actually workable for me. A blur transition would be nice though.
Arts Management & Project Development - http://arts-management.co.uk
absentcinema
Normal user
 
Posts: 40
Joined: Sat Jul 03, 2010 11:25 am
Location: UK

Re: GrandVJ Dev. 101214 - Feedback and bug report

Postby absentcinema » Wed Dec 22, 2010 6:37 pm

Regarding the banks, the midi control bank select cycles through them in sequential order, if you drag the banks and re-arrange their display order the midi controller still cycles through them in their original sequential order. eg. if you re-arrange them to an order of 2,1,5,4,3 they still cycle 1,2,3,4,5 with midi control. I can just about keep track with them being numbered, but now with 32 re-named banks it could get quite confusing with a midi controller making the display jump all over the place. I hope this explanation makes sense.
Arts Management & Project Development - http://arts-management.co.uk
absentcinema
Normal user
 
Posts: 40
Joined: Sat Jul 03, 2010 11:25 am
Location: UK

Re: GrandVJ Dev. 101214 - Feedback and bug report

Postby cioce » Wed Dec 22, 2010 11:42 pm

Really good features! 8)

Considering that a lot of VJs use a typical 16.9" laptop (1366x768 in my case), could we have the windows in this mode?

http://img812.imageshack.us/img812/2827/example.gif

The preview windows moved on left and more vertical space for the mixer zone because the new transitions selection really need more space to see which sample are loaded into anyone off the 8 slots.
User avatar
cioce
Newbie
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Apr 06, 2009 1:23 am
Location: Ferrara - Italy

Re: GrandVJ Dev. 101214 - Feedback and bug report

Postby hypnotica » Thu Dec 23, 2010 4:51 am

Masks option in transitions tab. Be nice have one called other witch permits user to select any jpg,png file as a mask in that era.

BTW Transition delay 1.00 seconds and others seemed to be locked.

Transition options and 10 presets better off at the transition tab then crossfader section.
Over 10 years of Visuals Stimulations!
hypnotica
Confirmed user
 
Posts: 72
Joined: Mon Sep 24, 2007 6:35 pm
Location: Canada

Re: GrandVJ Dev. 101214 - Feedback and bug report

Postby VJKatza » Sat Dec 25, 2010 5:49 pm

BUG:
Mapping Knob into the cell bank slider only effect banks #01 - #16.

*This version also solved some memory leaks I had. :D

10x!
User avatar
VJKatza
Normal user
 
Posts: 45
Joined: Mon Nov 30, 2009 8:54 am

Re: GrandVJ Dev. 101214 - Feedback and bug report

Postby vjsynth » Sun Dec 26, 2010 12:09 am

I cannot post !
vjsynth
Newbie
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2010 11:39 pm
Location: Bulgaria

Re: GrandVJ Dev. 101214 - Feedback and bug report

Postby VJKatza » Mon Dec 27, 2010 12:29 am

BUG: (mixer mode)
Can't assign effect parameters over a cell, parameters are locked.
parameters are only assignable over layer.
User avatar
VJKatza
Normal user
 
Posts: 45
Joined: Mon Nov 30, 2009 8:54 am

Re: GrandVJ Dev. 101214 - Feedback and bug report

Postby hypnotica » Wed Dec 29, 2010 6:05 am

Major bug with the interface windows. First time loaded windows can be resize pretty small and cool. but next loadup window mode very limited to large is about 1000pixel vertically . 8( It's a similar bug with 1.21 i'm test on my desktop. It has something to do with first time loadup generating presets xml's.
Over 10 years of Visuals Stimulations!
hypnotica
Confirmed user
 
Posts: 72
Joined: Mon Sep 24, 2007 6:35 pm
Location: Canada

Re: GrandVJ Dev. 101214 - Multiple Webcams

Postby aves » Fri Dec 31, 2010 12:42 pm

Multiple 'same type webcams' video sources not working. In release 1.2.2 multiple C600 HD webcams are detected but in Dev 101214 release only One Cam is visible. Both Mac & PC situation. In most visual programs the same Cams are controled with power On-Off function when selected (eg virtual DJ) without any problem but in GVJ the cams are ON when selected for the first time but do not go in OFF mode when deselected or non-active in the layers. Is it possible in grandVj to control power and videostream from USB device only when source is active and control usb power and stream when inactive. In this case GVJ wil work with multiple HD Webcams connected like many other programs do.
aves
Newbie
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Nov 19, 2009 7:28 am

Re: GrandVJ Dev. 101214 - Feedback and bug report

Postby vostek » Sat Jan 01, 2011 8:18 am

crashes every time I try to go to bank 17 or higher.
vostek
Confirmed user
 
Posts: 53
Joined: Sat Apr 28, 2007 6:48 pm

Re: GrandVJ Dev. 101214 - Feedback and bug report

Postby vjsynth » Sat Jan 01, 2011 11:18 pm

When i try to post i get this :
01-Jan-2011 10:18PM
dotDefender Blocked Your Request

Please contact the site administrator, and provide the following Reference ID:

efaa-98db-8ca2-ea5c
vjsynth
Newbie
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2010 11:39 pm
Location: Bulgaria

Re: GrandVJ Dev. 101214 - Feedback and bug report

Postby VJKatza » Wed Jan 05, 2011 11:19 am

vostek wrote:crashes every time I try to go to bank 17 or higher.

+1
User avatar
VJKatza
Normal user
 
Posts: 45
Joined: Mon Nov 30, 2009 8:54 am

Re: GrandVJ Dev. 101214 - Feedback and bug report

Postby absentcinema » Fri Jan 07, 2011 6:51 pm

vostek wrote:crashes every time I try to go to bank 17 or higher.


It doesn't crash for me, but the bank temples/configuration doesn't hold on bank 17 and above, it defaults to a different bank setting grid.
Arts Management & Project Development - http://arts-management.co.uk
absentcinema
Normal user
 
Posts: 40
Joined: Sat Jul 03, 2010 11:25 am
Location: UK

Re: GrandVJ Dev. 101214 - Feedback and bug report

Postby Moabyte » Sun Jan 09, 2011 6:22 am

crashes when trying to go from bank 1 to 32 or 16 to 17 using APC40.

Some transitions do not totally complete and you can see a faint ghost of it, especially if one side is black. The pixel transition is an example.

Transition panel does not redraw or work at all in mixer mode.

No way to use midi controller to select the definable transitions over the crossfader. I found the INC and DEC arrows work with midi for each selected slot, which is good to quickly set the transition, but once those slots are set there is no way to select them with midi.

Using Quad core Mac in Mixer mode.
Last edited by Moabyte on Thu Jan 27, 2011 9:35 am, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
Moabyte
Confirmed user
 
Posts: 59
Joined: Fri Jun 01, 2007 8:06 am
Location: Phoenix, AZ

Re: GrandVJ Dev. 101214 - Feedback and bug report

Postby vjsynth » Mon Jan 10, 2011 12:34 pm

vjsynth wrote:When i try to post i get this :
01-Jan-2011 10:18PM
dotDefender Blocked Your Request

Please contact the site administrator, and provide the following Reference ID:

efaa-98db-8ca2-ea5c


Can someone help with this ?
i am trying to post my findings with no luck !
If i write one more line , and i am blocked by this "dotDefender" stuff
vjsynth
Newbie
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2010 11:39 pm
Location: Bulgaria

Re: GrandVJ Dev. 101214 - Feedback and bug report

Postby jcbklyny » Mon Jan 10, 2011 9:13 pm

vjsynth wrote:
vjsynth wrote:When i try to post i get this :
01-Jan-2011 10:18PM
dotDefender Blocked Your Request

Please contact the site administrator, and provide the following Reference ID:

efaa-98db-8ca2-ea5c


Can someone help with this ?
i am trying to post my findings with no luck !
If i write one more line , and i am blocked by this "dotDefender" stuff


I get this sometimes too, they had a problem with spam a while ago and I think they installed a blocker to help. problem is it's blocking normal posts too. I gave up trying to post which is why I dont post as much as I did in the past.
jcbklyny
Expert user
 
Posts: 314
Joined: Tue Jun 19, 2007 1:28 am
Location: Brooklyn

Re: GrandVJ Dev. 101214 - Feedback and bug report

Postby vjsynth » Tue Jan 11, 2011 11:02 pm

So I paid €337.59 for the software,
and cant even complain when there is something wrong with it ...
Great !
vjsynth
Newbie
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2010 11:39 pm
Location: Bulgaria

Re: GrandVJ Dev. 101214 - Feedback and bug report

Postby jcbklyny » Mon Jan 17, 2011 8:56 am

Found a BIG problem with this dev version - NO AUDIO FROM .MPG files.


Also noticed that midi bank select only scrolls to Bank 16 although additional banks have been added.


- John
jcbklyny
Expert user
 
Posts: 314
Joined: Tue Jun 19, 2007 1:28 am
Location: Brooklyn

Re: GrandVJ Dev. 101214 - Feedback and bug report

Postby FrankySpanky » Fri Jan 21, 2011 9:24 pm

jcbklyny wrote:Found a BIG problem with this dev version - NO AUDIO FROM .MPG files.
Also noticed that midi bank select only scrolls to Bank 16 although additional banks have been added.
- John

And the order of bank15 is wrong, : [bank 13] - [bank 15] - [bank 14] - [bank 16].
FrankySpanky
Newbie
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Sun Dec 12, 2010 10:01 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Re: GrandVJ Dev. 101214 - Feedback and bug report

Postby FrankySpanky » Fri Jan 21, 2011 9:43 pm

Also wouldn't it be great to have the possibility to refresh a clip's thumbnail in this release (half of my clips thumbnails are black or not recognizable). It's a small feature that would improve the preformance quality so much.
FrankySpanky
Newbie
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Sun Dec 12, 2010 10:01 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Re: GrandVJ Dev. 101214 - Feedback and bug report

Postby crabs » Mon Jan 24, 2011 6:08 pm

refresh thumbnail would be great and very helpfull!
cocktails and wheels spin my world
crabs
Normal user
 
Posts: 35
Joined: Wed Mar 22, 2006 6:22 pm
Location: Alkmaar-Netherlands

Re: GrandVJ Dev. 101214 - Feedback and bug report

Postby absentcinema » Thu Jan 27, 2011 2:07 pm

+1 for thumbnail refresh. Many of mine just appear as black.

A 64bit compile would also be nice.
Last edited by absentcinema on Fri Jan 28, 2011 3:35 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Arts Management & Project Development - http://arts-management.co.uk
absentcinema
Normal user
 
Posts: 40
Joined: Sat Jul 03, 2010 11:25 am
Location: UK

Re: GrandVJ Dev. 101214 - Feedback and bug report

Postby vjsynth » Thu Jan 27, 2011 11:50 pm

Why when i select a layer and put a video it immediately go to full opacity ?!
It makes sense for Synth Mode but in Mixer Mode !? You don`t see DJ mixer playing the new CD immediately after you insert it !
You need to find CUE point, adjust tempo, levels, EQ corrections and after that you can add it to the mix when it is appropriate to add the new element !
The software completely disregards the fact that i have lowered the opacity to zero of all the layers via midi controller.
Please fix it !
vjsynth
Newbie
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2010 11:39 pm
Location: Bulgaria

Re: GrandVJ Dev. 101214 - Feedback and bug report

Postby VJKatza » Fri Jan 28, 2011 1:35 pm

+1 for thumbnail refresh
+ Masks over layers would be great
+ 9th layer for untouched overlay (pic or vid)
User avatar
VJKatza
Normal user
 
Posts: 45
Joined: Mon Nov 30, 2009 8:54 am

Re: GrandVJ Dev. 101214 - Feedback and bug report

Postby PhasedMedia » Fri Jan 28, 2011 10:57 pm

Timecode/countdown in visual tab would be very handy.
Transitions are snapping to full intensity for a half sec before fading in.
Will
PhasedMedia
User avatar
PhasedMedia
Expert user
 
Posts: 345
Joined: Thu Jul 03, 2008 12:21 pm
Location: New Zealand

Re: GrandVJ Dev. 101214 - Feedback and bug report

Postby dombayo » Sun Jan 30, 2011 10:39 am

We have a 3 screen setup with 2 capture cards, (Decklink and another). (2 identical computers one is for backup)The Decklink fixes are great and our system is alot more stable, thanks! We found a few more bugs though...

1. The Direct Sound driver is not activating. We found an unfavourable work around by choosing to activate ASIO in the settings and when that fails to load it reloads the Direct Sound successfully.
2. Our Korg Nano Kontrol on both computers regularly fails to work when openning Grand VJ. This is a bug in the old version too. We manage to get it working by restarting GrandVJ multiple times and/or swapping to another USB port. Have reinstalled latest drivers.
3. Capture Cards are far more stable but we still get regular system freezes when they are working with GrandVJ.

Any help would be greatly appreciated, and your updates are also! :)
dombayo
Newbie
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Jan 30, 2011 10:26 am

Re: GrandVJ Dev. 101214 - Feedback and bug report

Postby arno » Tue Feb 01, 2011 10:26 am

the effect "Zoom Out" never works.

all the Quartz Composer effects make my arkaos Grand VJ bug and crash in a few seconds! (even with my videos in photo Jpeg as you recommand it)

the "Hold running layer" button doesn't work (in synth mode)

a stupid thing : the "toggle full screen" button is a little bit grey when off and a little bit darker when on. Could the difference of color be very much harder, very clear and very dark, black or white, grey or red?? (I worked last week in a big event in Cannes and 5 minutes before I began mixing, the video ingenior could not tell me if I was in full screen or not. There was lights, smoke everywhere and I could'nt see anything with your little button with such a few difference of color.)

thank you for all you do
arnaud
arno
Normal user
 
Posts: 45
Joined: Tue Dec 17, 2002 9:53 pm
Location: paris

Re: GrandVJ Dev. 101214 - Feedback and bug report

Postby askapple » Thu Feb 17, 2011 10:33 pm

When I use the new software it inevitably crashes, haven't quite pinned down what it is that makes it crash, but I send in the report to apple everytime, so maybe you guys could use that information. I second making the blackout and full screen buttons have more defined color when active. When I'm making adjustments, it always seems to revert back to the transition tag, no matter what I left it on last in the section at the top in the middle. Numerous quartz effects aren't working. When i switch to mixer mode it makes the majority of my loops useless, the thumbnails are there, but when activated, the don't do anything. I really like the concept here, and opt to use it on some nights, but the lack of reliability makes this version scary to use in a live setting.
askapple
Newbie
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Wed Apr 29, 2009 10:01 am

Re: GrandVJ Dev. 101214 - Feedback and bug report

Postby askapple » Thu Feb 17, 2011 10:34 pm

How soon is it for another update to this, really looking forward to this software once it's dialed in.
askapple
Newbie
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Wed Apr 29, 2009 10:01 am

Re: GrandVJ Dev. 101214 - Feedback and bug report

Postby jcbklyny » Sat Feb 19, 2011 12:15 am

vjsynth wrote:Why when i select a layer and put a video it immediately go to full opacity ?!
It makes sense for Synth Mode but in Mixer Mode !? You don`t see DJ mixer playing the new CD immediately after you insert it !
You need to find CUE point, adjust tempo, levels, EQ corrections and after that you can add it to the mix when it is appropriate to add the new element !
The software completely disregards the fact that i have lowered the opacity to zero of all the layers via midi controller.
Please fix it !



Lock the MIXING tab... there is nothing wrong with this feature.
jcbklyny
Expert user
 
Posts: 314
Joined: Tue Jun 19, 2007 1:28 am
Location: Brooklyn

Re: GrandVJ Dev. 101214 - Feedback and bug report

Postby pointless dav » Fri Mar 11, 2011 9:05 pm

Hi there,

can't seem to extract the dev file that i downloaded from the aforementioned blog post.

firefox download on osx 10.5 and 10.6, tried to extract both with unarchiver and stuffit, gives me an "unknown file" error.
any alternative link?
tried both the .cpgz and .zip with no success.
download manager indicates a 33Mb download but my download in the folder are respectively 4Kb and 0Kb.


i need those transition for a show in 3 days.

thanks for your help.

dav
pointless dav
Normal user
 
Posts: 37
Joined: Wed Mar 02, 2005 2:29 am
Location: glasgow-uk

Re: GrandVJ Dev. 101214 - Feedback and bug report

Postby jcbklyny » Fri Mar 11, 2011 9:11 pm

I don't recommend using this DEV version during a LIVE show. It's clearly NOT ready and has way too many bugs.

Use the regular release version.
jcbklyny
Expert user
 
Posts: 314
Joined: Tue Jun 19, 2007 1:28 am
Location: Brooklyn

Re: GrandVJ Dev. 101214 - Feedback and bug report

Postby absentcinema » Sat Mar 12, 2011 2:07 pm

pointless dav wrote:download manager indicates a 33Mb download but my download in the folder are respectively 4Kb and 0Kb.


This is most likely a problem with your computer not the archive files which are fine and coming off the server complete.
Arts Management & Project Development - http://arts-management.co.uk
absentcinema
Normal user
 
Posts: 40
Joined: Sat Jul 03, 2010 11:25 am
Location: UK

Re: GrandVJ Dev. 101214 - Feedback and bug report

Postby konst » Tue Mar 15, 2011 10:28 am

Transitions are a great achievement for me, too. Finally, we get something back that the old Arkaos VJ always offered !?
I like smooth shows, not the staccato look (mostly), so transitions are essential.
I too got the Window size bug. Window won´t fit vertically on my Macbook Pro display.
And this morning, I got no output in the mixer mode. This may have worked last night, though.
Looking forward to the new version -

konst
Munich
konst
Newbie
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Nov 28, 2008 9:52 pm
Location: Munich, Germany


Return to GrandVJ - Eight channels VJ software for real time HD video mixing

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests