external sequencer

What kind of MIDI devices do you use ? How do you use them ? Have a problem configuring it with GrandVJ? Have a tip to share on how to use it ?
ALL about MIDI keyboards, controllers, adapters etc.. and ArKaos goes here !

Moderators: Jdoniaute, crustea

external sequencer

Postby iw » Wed Oct 30, 2002 3:15 pm

Hi VJ´s

I´m new to this forum....I need some help / advise

I need an external sequencer ( yamaha RS7000 sampler / drummachine) to trigger some preprogrammed patterns AND at the same time "play" on my miditech midi keyboard.
I´m using

Titanium G4 Mac O.S 9.2,
a small Steinberg 2*2 midiinterface
OMS 2.3.8
Arkaos v. 2.2.1

the keyboard ( midi 1 )+arkaos work
the sequencer ( midi 2)+arkaos work

but

sequencer+keyboard+arkaos doesn´t work

In the midi setup menu, I can choose port 1 or port 2, but not both ( called
USB-2-midi )

Is this an OMS or Arkaos issue?
I know I could connect the keyboard to the sequencers thru port, but it´s really not an option because of the way we perform live....

please help

Iben West
iw
Newbie
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Sep 20, 2002 6:45 pm

Postby FraKtus » Fri Nov 15, 2002 1:05 pm

The problem is with OMS, it's not easy to open several midi devices in the same time.

On the PC side it's possible to open all the available MIDI interfaces, but OMS does not provide this functionality on the Mac.

I would recommend to use a small hardware midi merge device to do this. There are many small boxes doing this and we are using with success the one produced by MidiMan. Be carrefull to choose an auto-powered one, you will avoid having yet another small power supply :wink:
User avatar
FraKtus
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 303
Joined: Fri Aug 23, 2002 3:02 pm
Location: Belgium


Return to Hardware - General discussion about hardware for VJ/DJ

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

cron